Confidential Access

Welcome to Year 9

Dear Parents/Guardians,

I would like to welcome you and your daughter to Year 9 at Presdales School. This is a very exciting year as students will be starting to learn material for their GCSE’s in subjects such as Science, and will have chosen the rest of the subjects they wish to study at GCSE level by the end of the year. It is important that they think carefully about these subjects and your daughters’ form tutor and I are here to help guide them in these choices.

As workload and quantity of homework increases it is important that students work to their very best and focus on their studies. We ask that student’s put in their best effort in lessons to help maintain their progress. As well as academic achievement we also promote students to enjoy all of the extra-curricular clubs and events available to them, including the opportunity to visit Germany.

The Year 9 pastoral team is shown below. This team of staff are on hand to support your daughter through Year 9 and beyond.

9EC (formerly 8EC) – Mrs Carr/Mrs Rowe - carre@presdales.herts.sch.uk / rowes@presdales.herts.sch.uk

9LH (formerly 8LH) - Mrs Hyslop - hyslopl@presdales.herts.sch.uk

9LC (formerly 8LC) - Miss Catterall - catteralll@presdales.herts.sch.uk

9SC (formerly 9SC) - Mrs Culley - culleys@presdales.herts.sch.uk

9LB (formerly 8JS) – Mrs Bramilla - bambrillal@presdales.herts.sch.uk

My team and I are very much looking forward to supporting your daughter on the next step in her school journey. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns.

My contact details are: Tel: 01920-462210 ext. 271 and E-mail: DegnanF@presdales.herts.sch.uk

Here's to a great year!

Miss F Degnan

Head of Year 9